News

GMIM 24 August 2009

GMIM 24 August 2009

by Deleted user -
Number of replies: 0

Frances Leung writes...

Hi there!

This is the 6th week of the semester. Although it is only half way, I can see that the assignments are already enough to create pressures for you.

I hope everyone is still coping and doing well!

I want to share with you one of my personal growths that happened a few months ago. It is abstract and I don’t feel easy in describing it, so please be patient with me.

I graduated with a Bachelor of Science eight years ago. In these eight years, I’ve had three full time jobs, two part time jobs and have been a full time student for one semester. To many people I’m already very fortunate, but to me I often felt unsatisfied with my achievements. I don’t have a profession, and I don’t know if I have the potential to pursue one because I do not see what I am particularly good at. I seem to know a bit of everything but nothing is significantly good.

I shared this with my friend one day and what he responded impacted me. He said it may be the values of the society that give us the illusion that we may only consider smart people are professionals or scholars. But what I have, that I know a bit of everything and can complete a wide range of tasks, is also a valuable skill that not everyone has.

Oh yes, I then changed my perspective. Moreover, when I pondered this further, I realised my mindset was not only influenced by our society, but also from my background culture, my parents and my own personality. I am thankful that I now feel much more satisfied and settled on what I have and who I am as how God created me, and I rejoice in it! Just like what we say in Carey that we not only learn to know and to do, but also to be and to feel. In my case, ‘being’ is the lesson for me to learn.